Rebirth

Hello friends.

So today, I realised I needed to come back to this blog and finally take that step of faith that I wrote about on my last post. I thought I would have to open a new blog, but it looks like I’m here to stay.

Nothing momentous happened. I just knew and here I am writing…about what? I don’t know yet.

The past year since I stopped writing here has seen me go through momentous earth-shaking changes, both physically, emotionally, but most of all…spiritually. Two years ago (or was it three?), I was at camp with some friends over new years’ eve and as was our custom in those days, we shared what we wanted to happen to us/wished for in the new year.

After the usual “I want a job”, “I need a car”, “I want to get married” declarations, we got a little deeper. I said (or rather dared to say), in the words of Bob Marley, that I wanted emancipation from mental slavery. Waxing very lyrical, I know 🙂

I wanted God to free my mind. The mind is a powerful place, because your reality is governed by your mind. You can create whole worlds with your mind…and live in them. Throughout our lives we acquire so much and store it in our minds and believe things based on experience and what we choose to store in there.

I knew I needed my mind to be transformed for me to experience certain things in my life. I knew I had wrong mindsets that governed my decisions, but I was in no way prepared for what I uncovered and what I have had to work through these past three years; but most especially, last year.

Last year was a very hard year, but it was also a great year. So much good happened. So much GROWTH.

Is it a coincidence that I always post something just before or around my birthday? I don’t think so. My birthday (and I believe everyone’s) is so significant. The day we are born is so significant. I believe it always signifies some kind of rebirth.

There was this beautiful inspiring video posted by one of the American Idol contestants named Shi. She was saying how incredible life is and how the universe works and how amazing it is that we are alive. She was saying how every 10 years, all our cells regenerate, and we are a whole new being physically. Like we are new. It’s like we are reborn every ten years. It’s so incredible.

But then again, we are also infinite. There is something in us that lives on even when we are “reborn”, even when we die.

Watch the video here: https://www.facebook.com/whoisshi/videos/925886334129617/

I’m kind of losing my tangent here, hehehe.

Everything I’ve written up there, about renewing your mind, about emancipation from mental slavery, about infinity and about rebirth all comes down to this: God made each and every person unique. There never was and there never will be another you. Also, because of your uniqueness, you have a specially designed purpose that you are on this earth to accomplish, and you cannot accomplish this unless you are aware of this fact, and to be aware of this fact sometimes means opening your eyes and ears, hearing and seeing; and it sometimes means letting go of painful patterns and wrong mindsets.

This is the journey I’ve been on. This is the journey I’m still on, and, I think, this is what I’m supposed to write about now.

Leave a comment