Happiness

Happiness is in the moments.

I’ve spoken about joy before, which is different. Happiness is the feeling that we all try to capture as an endless state of being. Happiness is temporary, but that doesn’t make it any less delightful.

Do you know the secret to happiness?

I found it. It’s the moments that make you happy that define happiness. The trick is to capture as many of those moments as you can; revel in them, savour them, before they go away. Is it a sunrise? Catch that sunrise before it ends. Is it a song? Turn up the radio for as long as it lasts, and capture that five minutes of happiness. Is it seeing someone smile? Is it hearing a baby’s laugh?

When I look at every moment and every experience and seek the happiness I can experience in those moments, I actually have a lot of happiness squeezed into my day.

So, every day when I walk up to my office building, I look up at the sky between the two skyscrapers. I don’t know why, but the feeling of being all the way down here, and looking up at the blue sky, with birds darting in between the two towers, and the blue sky and sun reflecting off the windows, makes me happy. I like seeing people in cars, smiling at each other on my way to work in rush hour traffic.

I like it when my music player is on shuffle, and the song that comes on during that period when there is perfect silence, is one of my favorites. That makes me happy.

I capture moments of happiness every day. Who knew it was that easy?

Here’s to a happy weekend! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

