Thursday Thinkings :)

I’ve been reading What The Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell – and getting lots of attention in matatus and elevators because of it – but I digress. I came across a certain concept that he mentions in the book, on puzzles and mysteries. Malcolm explains that there is a critical difference between a puzzle and a mystery. To solve a puzzle, you need the missing pieces of a puzzle to complete it. You need more information to solve it. To solve a mystery, however, you don’t need more information. Gathering more information is eve more confounding. What you need to do is narrow down using the information that you already have to draw closer to the truth. Sometimes mysteries cannot be solved because you may never be able to glean the truth from all the information you have.

Anyway, my point is that there is something I’ve been puzzling over and I only realised today that this is a mystery, not a puzzle. The more information I get about it, the more confused I get. I need to comb through all the information I already have, or just ask for divine revelation! God can do anything, can’t He?

Which brings me to my next point…active faith. A certain minister was speaking about faith, and he said that as Christians, we have a lot of potential energy, but rarely does it get transformed into kinetic energy. This is because we don’t have true faith. We say “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”, but then we are so scared to do anything. Ironic, isn’t it? The minister challenged the congregation by asking what would happen if we truly believed without a doubt what God’s word said. We would be powerhouses; forces to reckon with.

He went on to differentiate between small faith and little faith. Jesus rebuked the disciples’ little faith in Matthew 8, yet He applauds “faith as small as a mustard seed” in Matthew 17. This minister explained that “little” means “inadequate, incomplete”. If I have little faith that God will provide food for me today, it means I have a little faith in God’s provision, a little faith in my ability to shoplift in a supermarket, a little faith in my mother giving me the food, etc…basically my faith is mixed up with other “faiths”. But small means small in size. However, small is complete, even though it is not large or distinct. I can have small faith in that I wholly believe that God will provide my food for breakfast, and that’s where it ends. I don’t know about lunch and supper. I hope this description makes sense. So small faith, God applauds; little faith, He abhors.

A friend shared this message with me and I was so blown away! I never even knew that there was a difference between the two. It hit me: if I wholly believed that God would do all He said He would do for me, how differently would I live my life? I’d just be making declarations and be so confident and unmoved by trivialities. Would I ever fear anyone? Would I ever worry about anything? Don’t I serve the creator of the Universe? If I truly believed, my life would be so different.

So, I’m living as I believe. I declare that there will be no traffic today on my way home! Amen!

Active faith my friends, active faith!

Leave a Reply

