God-shaped hole

Today I tread onto murky waters…muddy slopes and swampy plains…
I walk into the dangerous zone…called…

(DRUMROLL!!)

….wait…for…it….

RELATIONSHIPS! BETWEEN MEN AND WOMEN! BOYS AND GIRLS! (But mostly just men and women).

OK so I have been realizing that many people idolize romantic love and relationships (myself included). Like we dream about our Mr./Ms Right, dream of how perfect and wonderful our lives will be when we meet this other half that completes us…how our conversations will be meaningful and fun, how connected we will be, how awesome it will be and how jealous our exes and unrequited past loves will be when they see us together in all our perfection (OK maybe that last one is just me? Yeah, I think so. *cringe*)

It’s OK to desire to have a good relationship that is fulfilling and meaningful and non-dysfunctional…but when the line gets crossed to “I will never be happy until I meet Mr/Ms Right (if they even exist)” or “When I meet that person I will be whole, happy and my life will finally have meaning”, then we have a problem.

Someone told me that they used to think like this but when they found that person, they were still empty. They realized that they were really looking for relationship with God, and no man or job or hobby could ever fill that God-shaped hole inside of them. Which makes me wonder, why do we (or I) look for God in relationships? Why not just look for God directly? Why do we look for a substitute when God is right there? I mean, why is it easier to articulate a need for companionship but not a need for God? It’s puzzling to me.

I don’t know the answer, I’d like to know. Because I don’t want to look for God in a man, I want to look for God where I ought to. I don’t want to pressure a man to be God for me, as if it were even remotely possible. I pray the same for all of us. That we may know that what we are really looking for is God, and that we may seek Him first, because if we have that relationship with Him that we so desire, we won’t expect the world from our spouses and significant others, since they are only human, and  ill-equipped to meet that need in us.

What are your thought on this?

There’s a God-shaped hole in all of us
And the restless soul is searching
There’s a God-shaped hole in all of us
And it’s a void only He can fill

~ Plumb

One thought on “God-shaped hole

  1. Reblogged this on Evans' Space and commented:
    I pray the same for all of us. That we may know that what we are really looking for is God, and that we may seek Him first, because if we have that relationship with Him that we so desire, we won’t expect the world from our spouses and significant others, since they are only human, and ill-equipped to meet that need in us.

Leave a Reply

