Pre-Birthday Thoughts

Today is the last day before my birthday.

Somehow that is very significant! What shall I do to commemorate this grand day????

I decided to stop making resolutions (oops, is that a resolution?) since I never keep them. So this won’t be a post about what I will or will not do in my quarter-of-a-century year. It’s more like, I have to write this so it can be a significant thing. Sort of.

Anyway.

Why don’t I just go into a list of what I want for my birthday? With any luck, some dear kind soul will read this list and send me one of the things to my doorstep. What do I have to lose?

Actually, I’ve just realised that I don’t want much in terms of material possessions. The things I really want are intangible. How strange! Does this mean….oh no….could it….no…..it couldn’t…possibly….be…..

Could it…might it…..might it mean that I….I mean, I…have…oh my….I have….dare I say it….GROWN UP?

And it happened before the actual day! *Pat on the back*

Good job, mate! Atta, girl! That’s my girl!

Anywaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay…

What I really want for my birthday is to find my purpose. That would be the greatest birthday gift this year from God.

And maybe blueberry cake. Perhaps some delicious Italian ice cream. Then some Escada perfume. Some hot high-heeled boots, 3 or 4 pairs. Wouldn’t mind that at all.

Oh, and maybe a voucher for a spa treatment. Real pampering for a day. Thereafter I realize I’ve been granted a week’s leave from work, after which some awesome friends of mine take me for a beautiful holiday in Lamu or Malindi where idyllic days are spent frolicking on beaches and sipping juice.

After this week of delight, during which I actually meet the man of my dreams who happens to live in Nairobi and be coming back at the same time that we are, I return back here, self-actualized, rejuvenated and purpose-filled.

Sigh.

Best birthday ever. Heheheheh.

Happy birthday to me!

9 thoughts on “Pre-Birthday Thoughts

      • Wow, Brad! This was just what I needed! I finally figured out what I’m here for! How could your test have been the key? How God uses people always amazes me. I even wonder how you ended up on my blog at just the opportune time. I can’t thank you enough for posting your website here…
        This is the best thing that could have happened to me. A great weight is off my shoulders. God bless you!!

  1. did you just steal my dream holiday/ man of my dreams first meeting and everything…sigh πŸ™‚ this is a fun post and I so want all the things you want for your birthday for myself..happy your birthday to me πŸ™‚ hee hee..

    hope the day was a delightful one!! xx

  2. you know what you should do, though, right? post what day you’re coming back from that place and how you’re coming back. you’ll be surprised how easy it is to set up “chance” meetings on a trip… πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

