Everything

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.
~ 2 Corinthians 12:9

The year of 2010 has been a year of learning for me. A friend of mine told me that there is this girl who was speaking somewhere who said that every year God gives her a colour and a meaning for it, like maybe, purple, meaning royalty, translating to prosperity or something. I was quite jealous. That is so poetic and beautiful. But that is not the point.

I think for me every year God gives me a lesson ( it doesn’t sound that poetic…sigh). This year I’ve learned so much, I’m definitely not the same person I was when the year begun or even three months ago. I just feel like I went through a crash course on life, people and relationships.

The greatest lesson I have learned, however, is that Christ is all that I need. Ultimately, when all is said and done, when everything is gone, when everything is taken away, He is constant. He is the one I can rely on, He is everything to me. He is my source of happiness.

In everything, I realize that He is the one I should get my validation from. Life will hurt, people will leave, things will fall apart –  but if I know from Whom I get my strength, then I have nothing to fear or mourn over.

I’m still getting my head around this truth. I realized I may have everything, money, clothes, a closetful of shoes, a beautiful family…but what if it was all taken away? It could happen…my money could be no more, my family could be no more…then what? I’m not supposed to fall apart because of that. I’m supposed to know that everything on earth will pass away but God will never pass away.

Deep truths!

So when nothing is working out and things are falling apart, I’ll hold on to the fact that God is there for me and He is everything I need.

You are everything that I hope for,
Everything that I breathe for,
Everything that this heart will need,
Everything that I hope for,
Everything that I crave

~ Jeremy Camp

2 thoughts on “Everything

Leave a Reply

