Wednesday Whimsies

Happiness is a condition, not a destination.
~ Julian Baker, One Tree Hill

Yeah, I love that show! I didn’t believe there was such depth in a TV show, haha.

I think that sentence really spoke to me because I believe I’m one of those idealists that I love to hate, not realizing I am one. I believe in being happy. I believe your job should make you happy, your friendships should make you happy, where you live should make you happy, the relationship you’re in should make you deliriously happy…and that everyone, ideally, should have a higher calling that is their purpose for living which brings them fulfillment and eternal happiness.

I’ve been searching for this elusive happiness for a while now but all I’ve been is frustrated. I don’t have that dream job, that dream guy, that dream house. I don’t have dream anything really, and all the while I have been thinking I got the short end of the stick.
(My family and friends are awesome though, just putting that out there 🙂 [Disclaimer])

I’ve been feeling that without purpose, my life is meaningless. I’m still figuring out what this purpose thing is, especially for me, and I was thinking when I finally figure it out, then will I attain utter happiness and fulfillment. I’ve been thinking that when I meet that dream guy and we get that dream house and those dream kids, life will be perfect and now my happiness will be complete.

When I was watching One Tree Hill (Season 8, episode 7, I think 🙂 ), Julian was talking to Brooke and telling her that happiness is not really a destination or an end as such, but it comes and goes because it’s a condition; a mood. This really spoke to me. (I know, a mushy series, but don’t leave! There is profound truth in there somewhere!) We don’t have to strive for that day when we will attain happiness. We don’t have to work towards it, like it’s a goal of some sort.

Happiness is found in everyday simplicity, in random acts of kindness, in achievements. It’s found when you get that letter you’ve been waiting for, when you get that call from an old friend, when you make it though you didn’t think you could. Happiness is in laughter with friends, in eating a good home-cooked meal or in feeling better after having been ill all week. Happiness comes to us all through our lives, in sizeable doses.

We don’t have to be happy all the time. There will be sad days and dark days, but so will there be bright and happy days.

I’m so glad I finally get it. I’m happy today, I may not be tomorrow, but I’m still grateful to be alive.

Have a Happy Day 🙂

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Whimsies

  1. Hey *waving*
    It’s been a long while. Yes, its in the everyday small things..Ive been learning that too.
    Its not when we attain that goal or get that man coz sometimes we get there and still fill like naww something is missing.
    Its deciding to be happy regardless.
    Missed yah 🙂

  2. Hey there! Missed yah too! It also sucks that I can’t get to Blogger from the office coz it’s blocked so I never get to read your blog 😦
    Will find a way though..
    Thanks for your comment!

  3. Pingback: Wednesday Whimsies « My Life as a Rockhead | HappyTipsDaily

  4. Pingback: Wednesday Whimsies « My Life as a Rockhead | HappyTipsDaily

  5. I think I concur with the line from one tree hill about happiness being a condition. I do not think it is something we can control per se. I also think it is not something you can easily identify, because some things in your life might be going great, but other elements may not. So when can someone consider themselves truly happy??

    • I think the point is there is no such thing as either complete or incomplete happiness. I don’t think we are supposed to quantify it like that. It’s just that some things or situations make you happy even though there are some issues in your life that don’t at the same time. Don’t know if that makes sense?

Leave a Reply

