Does Anybody Hear Her

Today I was walking to work, minding my own business, when I remembered I wanted to buy something to drink. I came across a shop and went to buy my juice. When I got to the shop, I found about three men there, one of whom was showing the shopkeeper a Bible. I looked closer and noticed they were all holding Bibles and had those bag-briefcases that are exclusive to door-to-door preachers.

Apparently they were witnessing to the shopkeeper and he seemed to be quite receptive. After a short while the shopkeeper acknowledged me and I asked for the drink. As he was getting it he started talking to the guy again and at this point I reminded him that I want orange flavor so he went to get it. After I paid and was walking away, I heard one of the men say something like I came to distract the shopkeeper because I don’t want him to hear the word of God.

What? It took all my willpower to not march back there and give the guy a piece of my mind. This is a shopkeeper, his work is to sell stuff to customers…how is my coming to buy something a hindrance to God’s word? Was it because I interrupted them to ask for the flavor of the drink I wanted? Was it just becasue I dared walk there while they were preaching to the guy? Does this mean people should not perform their duties because the word of God will be hindered?

Exactly how weak is this word that anyone walking by can manage to hinder it?

I felt so judged, I felt like they were those Pharisees I read about in the Bible. The weird part is that I am saved. I’m not lost or Godless. Is it because I wasn’t dressed like a Christian? What is the dress code for Christians anyway?

Talking to them would have probably not helped. I would have come out sounding like I needed to prove a point (and been late to work and forgotten my drink, maybe).

I hated their attitude and yet that was my attitude not too long ago. If someone is not dressed decently enough, what business do they have being in church? If someone smokes and drinks, how can they dare worship God? If someone is living with his girlfriend or goes on the rave, how can they darken the entrance of a church?

What a hypocrite I was and still am.

Jesus didn’t look at people’s outward appearance, he looked at the heart. He hung out with the “bad guys”, the tax collectors, the prostitutes. He just loved them.

It doesn’t matter how we look on the outside. Not as much as who we are on the inside. Who appointed us judge and jury, eliminating those who are worthy and those who aren’t? I don’t want to be the reason someone can’t ever go to church or even consider knowing who God is because my nose is so upturned with “holiness”.

I want to be like Jesus.

If judgement looms under every steeple
If lofty glances from lofty people
Can’t see past her scarlet letter
And we never even met her

Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?
Or does anybody even knows she’s going down today
Under the shadow of our steeple
With all the lost and lonely people
Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me
Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?

~ Casting Crowns

5 thoughts on “Does Anybody Hear Her

  1. Exactly how weak is this word that anyone walking by can manage to hinder it?

    I like that. That is very true 🙂
    hehe I love the way ur voice comes through in this piece 🙂

  2. Pingback: Global Voices in English » Africa: Women Bloggers discuss war of a different kind

  3. Pingback: Africa: Women Bloggers discuss war of a different kind :: Elites TV

Leave a Reply

