Lead Me To The Cross

I’ve been writing in another blog so by the time I get here I’m usually bila stories and realizing my life is kinda boring anyway so why write about it?

On top of that, I don’t have any new rock music or any other genre for that matter, and I’m kinda bored of going through my music archives.

Writer’s block has kicked in too, as it is wont to do at inappropriate times…arrrgggh.

Anyway, today I was listlessly walking to work wishing I could be in bed and cursing the cold weather. I was listening to music on my beat-up mp3 player (beat-up because it’s a fake imitation of a very popular brand for one, and because it requires me to keep pressing the “next” button coz it’s constantly on repeat. Add that to the fact that sometimes the said “next” button sometimes acts as a “previous” or “increase volume” button. Don’t…even…ask)

There’s a song in there that I have heard a million times before but today, walking along listlessly freezing, it spoke to me in a more powerful way than it ever has.

Have you ever gone through a bland, lifeless relationship with God? Been dry and kinda aimless spiritually? Well, that’s how it has been for me for a while now. I was feeling I needed to do something about it but I was too lazy and uninspired to do anything about it. So one day I whispered a half-hearted prayer for God to renew me and I also told a couple of people to pray for me.

Isn’t it funny how as humans we even ask God to help us love him? Or to help us pray to him? Like, really? How weird is that?

Anyway, I was listening to this song and I almost raised my hands in worship as I was walking along (that would have been a sight!) It just put me in such a worshipful mood as I realised how much God loves me and sacrificed for me.

It’s such a beautifully simple song that just worships God authentically.

I’ll just share the lyrics here. Have a worshipful day 🙂

Savior I come
Quiet my soul, remember
Redemption’s hill
Where Your blood was spilled
For my ransom
Everything I once held dear
I count it all as loss

Lead me to the cross
Where Your love poured out
Bring me to my knees
Lord I lay me down
Rid me of myself
I belong to You
Lead me, lead me to the cross

You were as I
Tempted and tried
You are
The word became flesh
Bore my sin and death
Now you’re risen
Everything I once held dear
I count it all as loss

To your heart
To your heart
Lead me to your heart
Lead me to your heart

~ Hillsong United
2 thoughts on “Lead Me To The Cross

  1. Kindred spirit!
    I have been going through the exact same thing..that dry period and I have been making those prayers.
    Thanks for the lyrics.
    and where is this other blog? 🙂

    • Haha I’m gonna send you the link on your email. It’s for stories I compose (or try to) and another one that’s like a diary.
      Thanks kindred spirit!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

