The Kind

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. (Hebrews 12:1)

If your right eye causes you to sin, gouge it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to be thrown into hell. 30And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to go into hell. (Matthew 5:29-30)

I heard this song by Flyleaf that really got me thinking about sin. The song is so cryptic in itself, I’m not even sure I know what it really means, but in my interpretation I know it talks about being bound by sin and feeling so guilty that you can’t get out of it.

As Christians we always think since we have been saved by grace and since the old has gone and the new has come, we can’t be overcome by bad habits and wrong things. I used to think that but boy, how wrong I was. I learned the hard way that I wasn’t above failure and I was flesh and blood despite being saved and a Christian.

In a sense, it’s prideful to think that we are above sin. As we all know, pride comes before a fall. I used to think I couldn’t fall. Of course I could commit the small sins (it always amuses me the way we as humans categorize sin 🙂 ) but I wouldn’t fall into the “bigger” sins. In the end, I was humbled. The realization that my flesh was weak was truly humbling and promptly threw me off the pedestal on which I used to look down on others. The judging flew out the window as I realised I was no better than anyone else.

I guess God uses the wrong things we do for our good in the end. Isn’t he amazing?

So don’t despair. Wherever you are right now, whatever you are going through, realise that you can’t do it alone. You are not perfect. Nothing is perfect in this world. Even fruits. You can’t find a fruit without a flaw (uh…yeah. I usually check. Don’t judge me) Sometimes it has blemishes, sometimes it has a bruise, sometimes it’s a little disfigures. sometimes it’s the seeds within it that are flawed….just like humans. And God loves us anyway.
God is the only one who saves us from our situations. Call on Him and He will answer.

Just realise you can’t do it alone and surrender. It’s such a relief.

And she is feeding you and you lie with her
And for the first time your right arm becomes useful
As you sin with it you wanna cut it off
But instead you thank God for all of the wrong you do

You cut the cord today with God’s hand to hold yours steady
He waits for you to apply the pressure, the warmth of His breath
Wrapped in His words as He repeats His truth, after truth
After truth, after truth, after truth, after truth, after truth, after truth, after…

And it’s just the kind, the kind you talked about
And it’s just the kind that clothes your mind with Christ
He is feeding you and you know the truth
And I pray this is the last song I will sing to you

Flyleaf
One thought on “The Kind

Leave a Reply

