I Still Believe (Jeremy Camp)

The song above actually falls under my “old school” rock collection. Yeah, it’s not really old school, just that Jeremy Camp was one of the first rock artistes I listened to, loved and became a fan of.

The song I Still Believe is one of my personal favorites because of the message and the reason behind it.

Jeremy camp lost his first wife after a few years of marriage after she succumbed to cancer [sad, sad, sad]

This is a song he wrote after her death, chronicling his pain, vulnerability and unwavering faith.

After all this time, this song still gets me. I mean, how do you sing I still believe in your faithfulness when your young wife is dead and you are in so much pain you can hardly move, talk or think?

I guess every time I hear this song, I am humbled by Jeremy Camp’s faith. That’s the kind of faith I long for. I want to believe in God NO MATTER WHAT.

Heart-wrenching, grief-striking, hope-killing, depressing things aside…just to have that unwavering unshaken faith. Wow.

I so wanna be him when I grow up 🙂

Scattered words and empty thoughts
seem to pour from my heart
I’ve never felt so torn before
seems I don’t know where to start
but it’s now that I feel Your grace falls like rain
from every fingertip, washing away my pain

[Chorus:]
I still believe in Your faithfulness
I still believe in Your truth
I still believe in Your holy word
even when I don’t see, I still believe

Though the questions still fog up my mind
with promises I still seem to bear
even when answers slowly unwind
it’s my heart I see You prepare
but its now that I feel Your grace fall like rain
from every finger tip, washing away my pain

The only place I can go is into your arms
where I throw to you my feeble prayers
in brokenness I can see that this was your will for me
Help me to know You are near

– Jeremy Camp

6 thoughts on “I Still Believe (Jeremy Camp)

  1. I’ve heard this song before but never really read through the words. I know a friend of a friend who lost his wife of 3months yet he still sang ‘ANANIJALI’..I want that faith too..

  2. i thought Jeremy’s first wife died during their honey?and he proposed while she was in hospital?sad song as is the ananijali track

  3. This post has inspired a post. Well, not exactly cuz i have half of it written but didn’t think it was blog post worthy.. until i read this. Its about faith, coming soon.

  4. I want a faith like this too, in fact I need and should have it because I have seen God come through. How can people like me be helped?

Leave a Reply

