Times (Tenth Avenue North)

Wow, it’s been a little while 🙂

I’ve been adjusting to the new year and a lot has been going on but am glad to be back.

I’ve just been thinking how every experience we go through shapes our lives in numerous ways. Last year wasn’t the best of years for me, but looking back, I grew so MUCH. Really, I GREW UP. I guess I needed to, it was painful, but I can see now why I had to go through some of the stuff I did.

Do we ever really get over our naivete? I feel like even when my eyes are opened up to life’s realities, there is always something that remains innocent, till life cruelly opens my eyes AGAIN, and on and on it goes.

Life sucks and then you die is actually a true statement. It’s like that I guess. We ruined it in Eden and we have suffered ever since. Only now and then we get a little sunshine that brightens it.

I guess this year I want to anticipate the sun. I want to bear the rain, carry the umbrellas, brave the puddles and mud, not sadly or grudgingly, but expectantly, waiting for the sun.

I hope I can do it.

Faith, hope and love. That’s what I want this year (yeah, I know we are done with the 2010 resolutions/wishes/prayers…but it’s still January)

I want to have faith that God can see me through anything. That He is always beside me no matter what I’m going through.

I want to hope that it will get better, no matter how bleak it may seem. Hope that I’ll learn something from whatever I’m going through and that the lesson will be worth it in the end.

I want to love unconditionally. I want to allow God to love me unconditionally. And I want to love others, uninhibited, not expecting anything in return, willing to hurt, be embarrassed and vulnerable if for their sake it will help them or make me a better person.

High ideals, I know. Faith, hope and love!

I hear You say,
“My love is over. It’s underneath.
It’s inside. It’s in between.
The times you doubt Me, when you can’t feel.
The times that you question, ‘Is this for real? ‘
The times you’re broken.
The times that you mend.
The times that you hate Me, and the times that you bend.
Well, My love is over, it’s underneath.
It’s inside, it’s in between.
These times you’re healing, and when your heart breaks.
The times that you feel like you’re falling from grace.
The times you’re hurting.
The times that you heal.
The times you go hungry, and are tempted to steal.
The times of confusion, in chaos and pain.
I’m there in your sorrow, under the weight of your shame.
I’m there through your heartache.
I’m there in the storm.
My love I will keep you, by My power alone.
I don’t care where you fall, where you have been.
I’ll never forsake you, My love never ends.
It never ends.”

– Tenth Avenue North

7 thoughts on “Times (Tenth Avenue North)

  1. The lyrics to that song have spoken to me now esp through what im going through.
    I also want to never doubt that God loves me,that He truly does.thanks dear.

  2. You want to love unconditionally? That is something, i’m practising that everyday. Coincidentally, i’ve posted a piece about that. God bless, and all the best in the journey of life.

  3. wow i love unconditionally and i hurt 365 days of all my yr… its beautiful to love wholly and not expect anything back but totally breaking…

  4. “Life sucks and then you die”
    – how can that be, if you are born again?
    How, i ask?

    “I want to love unconditionally. I want to allow God to love me unconditionally. And I want to love others, uninhibited, not expecting anything in return, willing to hurt, be embarrassed and vulnerable if for their sake it will help them or make me a better person.”

    That is not possible the way you frame it. Love is a fruit of the Spirit. If you have the spirit, you never even have to try to love… it comes naturally.

    • This world is not our home hence the life sucks statement. That’s why i say and then you die. After death, happiness begins for us who are saved. Maybe i put it a little too harshly. But you are entitled to your own opinion.
      Even if you have the Spirit it is a struggle to be perfect.

  5. The words to that song are so….much!the words alone blow me away,the fact that its truth is too amazing. il pray for you this year that you might look back at yourself later in the year and love the transformation..

Leave a Reply

