Letter To My 16-Year-Old Self

I’ve done this before somewhere else but due to public demand (from two bloggers, lol) I’m doing it here for the sake of continuity and peer pressure. I have a feeling the letter I write here will be so different from the other one I did…

Dear Sixteen-Year-Old Non-Rockhead,

Why don’t you love rock yet??! Do you have any idea what you’re missing?! But you love music so I guess I can deal with that.

Get over yourself! Ok, Ok, sorry, don’t cry, I forgot. Tough love doesn’t work on you. Let me tell you something my dear, being sad will not help you in any way. Just go to some Laugh Festival or something. Really. Life is never that serious. This too shall pass, high school drama will end and you will get most of what you dreamt of. Just try, REALLY TRY and be patient. (Who am I kidding?)

Accept yourself, your size, your personality, your family, your life. When you think about it, it’s a pretty good life. No one’s life is perfect and everyone goes through problems. I know you feel different most of the time and like you don’t fit in but you will find your place someday.

Stand firm in your faith no matter what anyone says, no matter how hard it is now and even how much harder it will get. God is the only one who will always have your back. You won’t believe me if I tell you how far He’s brought you and how many amazing things He’s brought your way. You’ll see πŸ™‚

Boys, boys, boys. Where do I start? I know right now you think they all suck. Well, it’s not VERY different on my side of the future. But there are some good ones out there. But for now, your focus is right. Keep at those books, it will TOTALLY pay off. As for V, I’m still figuring it out…yeah…even till now. I know, right? πŸ˜›

That guy in campus, could you, like, maybe not talk to him? Or even look at him? No? Ok, don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Your family really loves you despite what you think now and what you’re going through. And yes, we made it through it. Things can only go uphill from there, trust me.

Those girls you meet in school, some of those you hang out with and some who you barely talk to…some of them will make up your girlfriends for life. These girls are awesome, even though you probably don’t see it yet.

Yes, yes, Physics is hard, but you’ll be glad you did it. And yes, you will pass. And get into college. And get a job. And get a house. No, you will not be selling vegetables on the street (not that it’s the worst job on earth). Seriously, you worry too much!

You will survive! I still don’t know where you got all that fear but it’s less now, though I’m still working on it. You are a lot of work! Sheesh! But you’re okay.

You’ll be okay.

Love,

Your Ever-Wise-Older-Mature-Awesome-Self From The Future

Tagging: Lilburdy, Wyndago, CSmith, Tricia, Nkirdizzle, Suetiful, Miss Stupendous (lol), Aliyinza, Gladys and Ngare.

4 thoughts on “Letter To My 16-Year-Old Self

  1. I can’t wait until I am not 16 anymore and I can write one of these letters to myself because it’s exactly what I need.
    Ok well I can wait, I know I have to enjoy the beauty of the moment but it just seems so hard right now.
    πŸ™‚ but reading what you’ve said makes me see it’s typical teenage stuff and it’s possible to get throught it.
    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

