Have Your Way (Britt Nicole)

This was my theme song for 2009. I guess it should be consoling that everyone seems to be admitting that 2009 was the hardest year for them yet. Me too.

I don’t even want to get into it but let’s just say my faith took quite a beating. Yet on the outside I seemed to be so on point when it came to spiritual matters. I grew in my Christian walk, in my ministry/service, closer to God…but my faith continued to falter and I only noticed on the last day of the year.

I was with my girls and we were recapping on the year and it’s only then I realised I was speaking like someone who has no faith and that’s because I had none. Or only trace amounts.

To say that it was disturbing is putting it mildly.

I wanted to be the one who had had a hard year but had only positive things to say and look forward to. I wanted to be the one embracing change and looking forward to the challenges and new things. But I wasn’t.

I now understand why. But wouldn’t we all want to be the coffee beans? You know, that story where they say there are three kinds of people: eggs, carrots and coffee beans.

In hot water they all react differently: the eggs become hardened, the carrots turn to mush but the coffee beans produce a beautiful aroma – in other words, they excel in crises.

Well, I wasn’t a coffee bean, that’s for sure. Can’t decide whether I was a carrot or an egg.

Anyway,things didn’t go so well this year. There were good and great things that happened, but I focused on the bad towards the end…for various reasons.

So this year I’m going to learn, or re-learn, faith.

And I’ll be reading the book of Job a lot.

I think he would understand.

Happy New Year bloggers!

Feels like I’ve been here forever,
Why can’t you just intervene,
Do you see the tears keep falling?
And I’m falling apart at the seams,
But you never said the road would be easy,
But you said that you would never leave.
And you never promised that this life wasn’t hard,
But you promised you’d take care of me,
So I’ll stop searching for the answers,
I’ll stop praying for an escape,
I’ll trust you God with where I am,
And believe you will have your way,
Just have your way,
Just have your way.

When my friends and my family have left me
And I feel so ashamed and so cold,
Remind you take broken things and turn them into beautiful
So I’ll stop searching for the answers,
I’ll stop praying for an escape,
I’ll trust you God with where I am,
And believe that you will have your way,
Just have your way,
Just have your way.

Even if my dreams have died,
Even if I don’t survive,
I’ll still worship you with all my life,
And I’ll stop searching for the answers,
I’ll stop praying for an escape,
And I’ll trust you God with where I am,
And believe you will have your way,
Just have your way,
Just have your way, yeah
I know you will,
You won’t forget,
Whoa, oh, oh
You love me,
Have your way.

– Britt Nicole

3 thoughts on “Have Your Way (Britt Nicole)

  1. Two things i discovered about faith are:
    1. You can’t fake it. Even if you tell yourself and force yourself to believe that things will work out, if in your spirit you don’t feel it.. you’re not faithful.
    2. Faith is something you practise to perfect. If you stop or lax, you’ll get weak in faith.
    I’m dealing with the faith issue myself, may God be with you in your battles.

    • Thanks W, those are some good points and I didn’t know that about faith. Thanks so much and may God be with you too on this journey of faith

  2. Faith is something you practise to be perfect, wow thanks for that Wyndago. You guys are not the only ones struggling with faith. This year with God’s help i would really love to be a coffee bean.

Leave a Reply

