This One’s For The Girls (Cadia)

This is for all you girls about 13
High school can be so rough, can be so mean
Hold on to, on to your innocence
Stand your ground when everybody’s giving in
This one’s for the girls

I remember being there: low self esteem, trying so hard to fit in and be cool, all the crushes on all those silly boys and my mum being my mum and not my friend when I needed her to be.
I needed someone to tell me I was beautiful but there wasn’t anyone.
I remember being bullied and being made fun of and being so sad a lot of the time.
How I’m still here and the person I am today is still a mystery despite everything.
But I thank God for the friends I made, especially those who are still with me today. We got through it all together;  you guys are priceless.

This goes out to you teenage girls.
I have been there, I know it’s hard…but trust me, from someone who is now older and wiser…this too shall pass.
You’ll get through it 🙂

This is for all you girls about 25
In little apartments, just trying to get by
Living on, on dreams and spaghettios
Wondering where your life is gonna go
This one’s for the girls

Well this is where I’m at.
They tell you life gets better after teenage years but they don’t tell you it gets harder!
Life is harder, responsibility like never before and the decisions! Tough choices on career, relationships especially with the guys, there is so much you have to deal with and the worst part is…this time, you are responsible for whatever outcome you get, good or bad.
Talk about pressure!

I live in a tiny apartment, surviving on shoestring budgets, dreams and spaghettios (noodles, for you Africans…lol)
Hope it gets better!
It’s fun though, the independence. Really fun 🙂

This one’s for all you girls about 42
Tossing pennies into the fountain of youth
Every laugh, laugh line on your face
Made you who you are today
This one’s for the girls

This is where I wanna get to, someday, what I admire when I look at my mother or my aunts. They know who they are now. They’re comfortable in their own skin; self-confident. They’ve been there, done that, watched the movie, bought the book.

I know they don’t know everything and they don’t have it all easy and figured out, but they just don’t have the petty problems I seem to have. They know that when a man says he’s gonna call you and doesn’t, he probably won’t. Ever.

They know the best salons, the best cake-makers, how to clean all stains and how to raise a child.
And despite their insecurities and problems, they still meet and have a good laugh now and then.
And I would love it if my children or nieces and nephews looked up to me someday.
A toast to all the girls out there!

This one’s for the girls
Who’ve ever had a broken heart
Who’ve wished upon a shooting star
You’re beautiful the way you are
This one’s for the girls

Who love without holding back
Who dream with everything they have
All around the world
This one’s for the girls

Yeah, we’re all the same inside
From 1 to 99

Cadia

4 thoughts on “This One’s For The Girls (Cadia)

    • Yeah it’s a song by a girl duo called Cadia. Yes I have a lot of rock…lol. And Relient K absolutely ROCK! Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  1. Ohh… this is so true! Every time I listen to my mom I realize there’s something about hitting 40 that just does something for a woman. She just lives and knows that it doesn’t matter what anyone thinks. A friend of mine told me that when she hit 30, she no longer cared whose waist was bigger or smaller than hers – she had this new freedom that she almost didn’t understand. I think 40 is a notch higher up the freedom… um, what do you call it… trail? Rope?

    13… I look back and realize it was so true what everyone told me – it really wasn’t such a big deal.

Leave a Reply

