Nice, Naive and Beautiful (Plumb)

I recently had a run-in with my ex, initiated by him of course. He was quizzing me, for the umpteenth time, about what went wrong with us, this time, under the guise of helping a bunch of his pals who were having relationship problems.

Of course I had to try and be nice, again, for the umpteenth time, replacing “you made my life a living hell” with “it was OK except for some issues” and “I regret the day I ever laid my eye on you” with “we were just too different”

He really hurt me in ways I couldn’t begin to describe. When they say love hurts, they know what they are talking about.

It doesn’t always hurt but this one sure did.

The kicker was when he said if given a chance or in a different time he would love to be with me. What? To say I feel the opposite would be the understatement of the century.

My point is in here somewhere.

Oh, right.

Compromise. Misery. Sacrifice.

The above had better be for a good cause, like following God and serving him (sacrifice), or working on a marriage (compromise), or not winning the lottery when you really needed the money (misery)…but not for something which does not add value to your life (like a relationship with someone that’s headed nowhere fast!)

I learned that it hurts to make mistakes. We can learn from them, of course, but sometimes they cost far more than we bargained for.

Listen to yourself. Not just your heart,  your whole being.

Those uneasy feelings and slight probings are not nonsense. They mean something isn’t right.

Listen to God.

He knows everything.

Don’t make mistakes when you know you are making them.

That’s means they are avoidable. That means you can save yourself.

Cause she’s so nice, naive and beautiful
Why did she get taken for granted
Why did she live in a world so cold
He took advantage of the nice, naive and the beautiful

If you’ve been there you know
If you’re still there hang on
We’re all dealt our lumps of coal
What you do with it can turn beautiful


Well there’s a life outside of this madness
And there’s a face behind every scar
But there’s a love overflowing with gladness
Get out of that place that’s restraining your love
I said get out of that place
That’s restraining your love

-Plumb

Leave a Reply

