Chin Up (Copeland)

I have been loving Copeland’s albums. Their lyrics are cryptic and simple at the same time. To some extent I get the idea that they are trying to sound like a Christian version of Coldplay but they don’t really pull it of…though it turns out different and unique which is their greatest point.

I love their sound, so elegant and clean. Their simple lyrics which hold so much depth underneath. The calm guitars and piano…it’s all so beautiful.

So the song “Chin Up” is one of the cryptic-simple songs am talking about.

The line “you’d break your neck to keep your chin up” really gets me thinking what I would do, what great lengths I would go to to save face. I mean, I am as proud as the next person (maybe more) and I hate uncomfortable or awkwardly embarassing situations. In an ideal world I would be the perfect person who never makes mistakes or gets embarrassed. But, what do you know, it’s not a perfect world.

I have to let go of my dreams and ambitions. It sounds random, but I have to, for God’s sake. I recently realized that He may have something entirely different from what I want planned for my life and that realization shakes me to the very core of my being. I mean, first of all, what is it? Will I want to do it…and even if I won’t, will I have a choice?

My pastor says God’s vision and plans for us are definitely the best for us, but we shouldn’t expect them to be comfortable or popular…in fact we should expect the direct opposite.

And therein lies the fear. I won’t be cool anymore (sounds absolutely lame, I know). I won’t be living for me anymore. I will have to surrender everything.

That’s the scariest thought of all.

I’m plunging deep into the unknown and I don’t know what it’s gonna be like.

“Back to where we started,
Losing who we were,
Maybe we should only
Tip a bottle back to keep us filled up.

Back to where we started,
Losing who we were,
Everybody knows that
You’d break your neck to keep your chin up.”

-Copeland

Leave a Reply

